The Writer Before the Page

The Writer Before the Page

From The Source of Self-Regard

Toni Morrison


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


A Vintage Shorts selection.

In her elegant yet piercing style, one of our most celebrated and revered writers, Toni Morrison, interrogates the writer’s task and responsibility in two illuminating and essential pieces. Initially delivered as parts of lecture series and collected in The Source of Self-Regard, these pieces exhibit the depth with which Morrison probes the capacity and power of literature. 

An ebook short.


Toni Morrison:
TONI MORRISON is the author of eleven novels, from The Bluest Eye (1970) to God Help the Child (2015). She has received the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Pulitzer Prize. In 1993 she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. She lives in New York.